Copyright 2013 The Friends of The Forfar Botanists

Home The Friends The Botanists The Projects Gallery

About us

The Friends of the Forfar Botanists are a community group.  We are very proud of the group of botanists who came from our wee town.  Our aim is to promote the memory of these intrepid men and their achievements. Hopefully it will be an inspiration to the young people of Forfar today, to try to achieve excellence in their chosen fields.

Chairperson: Eleanor Gledhill

Secretary:  Aileen Elliott

Treasurer:  Elizabeth Meikle

Vice-chair:  Ian Christie

Committee member: Lynne Devine


We would like to thank the following

for helping us in our mission:

Angus Environmental Trust

Forfar Common Good Fund

Angus Council

Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh

Scottish Rock Garden Club

Website by Simon Bogle:           Copyright Statement

This plaque is on the wall in Don Street in Forfar. The street was named after George Don, senior. He had his nursery there, near to where Tesco now stands.